Genre: Fiction
Published: 1 June 2017
Publisher: Andersen Press

Troublemakers

by Catherine Barter


In three years I will be able to vote and I will still have less power than I did at the moment that I saw that email, which was such a tiny thing but look what happened.

Fifteen-year-old Alena never really knew her political activist mother, who died when she was a baby. She has grown up with her older half-brother Danny and his boyfriend Nick in the east end of London. Now the area is threatened by a bomber who has been leaving explosive devices in supermarkets. It is only a matter of time before a bomb goes off.
Against this increasingly fearful backdrop, Alena seeks to discover more about her past, while Danny takes a job working for a controversial politician. As her family life implodes, and the threat to Londoners mounts, Alena starts getting into trouble. Then she does something truly rebellious.

A searing, heartbreaking coming-of-age tale for fans of Lisa Williamson, Jenny Downham and Sarah Crossan.

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2018, nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018 and longlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2018.

“A thought-provoking, richly layered YA novel about politics, love, grief and coming of age.” - Imogen Russell Williams, Guardian
“It is a superior example of this genre, driven by some well-fleshed out, bold characters and sparkles with humour, wit and spirit.” - Rachel Hall, Goodreads
“A clever, thoughtful novel with a wonderfully realistic main character.” - Sarah Webb, Irish Independent
“A sparky and timely coming-of-age tale about politics, activism and morality.” - Katherine Woodfine
“Intelligent and thought-provoking, this is an absorbing novel, and a highly impressive debut.” - Books for Keeps