THE SQUARE OF SEVENS by Laura Shepherd-Robinson has been selected for “Between the Covers” TV book club presented by Sara Cox on BBC2

Sebastian Faulks, Laura Shepherd-Robinson and A P Firdaus are among the authors whose books have been selected for the seventh series of the “Between the Covers” TV book club presented by Sara Cox on BBC2 this autumn.

Each week, the show features four guests discussing their favourite book and two book club picks. One of these picks will spotlight a newly published book, reflecting a mixture of styles and genres, and the second will be a classic selected from The Booker Prize backlist.

The second episode stars Ade Edmondson, Annie Macmanus, Chris McCausland and Angela Barnes. They will be discussing The Square of Sevens by Laura Shepherd-Robinson (Pan Macmillan) and the “gem” chosen from The Booker Prize backlist, 1993 winner Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle (Vintage).

The book club picks have been chosen by executive producer and c.e.o of Cactus TV Amanda Ross. In deciding on the list, Ross canvased a range of experts across the industry and was supported by a panel comprising series producer Pollyanne Conway, Prima books editor Nina Pottell and consultant and literary agent Julia Kingsford.

Cox said: “The books chosen this series I think are amongst the best we’ve ever had; superb writing that will entice and delight our viewers plus of course oodles of other great reads courtesy of our superstar guests, who come clutching their favourite books to share with our awesome audience.”

Ross added: “Our job was especially tough this series because there have been so many amazing and original books published this season, consequently we were spoilt for choice so I’m more confident than ever that we have something for everyone.”